Here's why you should never close WhatsApp on your iPhone by swiping up 3 years ago

Here's why you should never close WhatsApp on your iPhone by swiping up

Closing tabs by swiping up is something we do daily without a second thought.

Swiping up to close your apps could be causing you grief without you even knowing.

A warning has been popping up on the phones of WhatsApp users who partake in the usual routine of double-clicking the home button and swiping up to close the app.

The warning indicates to users that closing the app by swiping up prevents the app user from receiving WhatsApp notifications.

Not ideal.

The most recent iOS 11 update, released on 31 October, appears to be the root of the problem. The issue seems to affect every device with the update, including the new iPhone X.


According to Whatsappen, a WhatsApp information site, Apple is fully aware of the issue and WhatsApp has since released upgraded versions of the app in an attempt to work around the bug.

Twitter account @WABetaInfo, a profile that specialises in news of features and fixes in development at WhatsApp, tweeted the communication app's most recent update yesterday.

For the time being, it seems that the only way to successfully avoid missing notifications is to never close down WhatsApp.

While this isn't exactly convenient for your phone battery among other things, this seems to be the only sure way of avoiding missed messages. However, with Apple and WhatsApp both aware of the matter at hand - a solution should be available sooner rather than later.

Users of the app have also since recommended going to notifications in WhatsApp settings and choosing “Reset Notification Settings” - this seems to solve the problem of omitted notifications, as it sends notifications to your device even when the app is not running.