Saints Row is getting a reboot six years after last instalment 1 month ago

Saints Row is getting a reboot six years after last instalment

Violence, crime, and neon lights - Saints Row is back

A Saints Row reboot is being teased by publisher Deep Silver, six years since Saints Row 4: Get Out of Hell was released. Geoff Keighley, who will host Gamescom's opening Livestream next week, has also hinted at its return.

Advertisement

The game series follows the 3rd Street Saints, a fictional street gang originally operating out of the Saint's Row district. By the third instalment, the 3rd Street Saints have risen to become a worldwide network of criminal activity, which the player can control.

The Saints Row official website has been updated with a large image of a brick wall reading 'rebooting' in graffiti print. Geoff Keighley tweeted Friday that the Gamescom Opening Night Live presentation will be "bossing" it with announcements, a reference to Saints Row's player character.

More announcements will come at Gamescom, which kicks off on August 25 at 11 am Pacific (2 pm Eastern, 7 pm BST).

Advertisement

In many ways, Saints Row is a lot like Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto.

Twitter use Spazz City tweeted: "If we get another Saints Row game like Saints Row 2 they can just have my bank account Respectfully."

Similarly, video host and producer Brian Altano tweeted: "Really excited about the idea of a new Saints Row game. GTA V came out in 2013 and aside from the Watch Dogs series there have basically been no modern open world sandbox games where you steal vehicles & shoot stuff since then, and I miss getting games like that. Hope it’s great!

Advertisement

"Not sure how we went from getting 12 GTA clones a year during the PS2/PS3 era to 'only Rockstar makes these games now' to 'Rockstar doesn’t even make new GTA games anymore, they just add stuff to their old one' in like a decade but I’m happy to finally see some competition."

Related links:

Advertisement