Irony doesn't escape fans as Thierry Henry tries to justify Alexis Sanchez's controversial handball goal 4 years ago

Irony doesn't escape fans as Thierry Henry tries to justify Alexis Sanchez's controversial handball goal

So Thierry, what's your stance on this clear handball... *crickets*

There was controversy in Saturday's early Premier League kick-off between Arsenal and Hull City.

Advertisement

Hull City cried foul as Alexis Sanchez's opener on the 34th minute clearly struck his arm before going into the net.

The play started with Kieran Gibbs shot into the crowded box getting blocked by Andrew Robertson on the line.

The ball broke to Sanchez who got his toe on the end of it with the goalkeeper swiftly getting his body across the goal.

The ball ricoheted off the shot-stopper, rose into the air and struck Sanchez on the arm before rolling into the net.

Advertisement

 

Both the referee and the linesman allowed the goal to stand, but their view appeared to be obstructed by the players in the box.

Hull City's players, understandably felt aggrieved.

Advertisement

As one of the pundits in the Sky commentary box for the game, Thierry Henry was called upon to give his assesment of the controversy.

The former Arsenal and France striker's answer was pretty interesting, especially considering that famous night in Paris in which he handled the ball against Ireland in the build up to that goal that saw them miss out on the World Cup.

"Well, the referee thought so."

"Was it deliberate? No. If it doesn't hit (his arm), is it a goal? No. It's difficult."

"It is not on purpose, it is a goal,"

Advertisement

The irony was not lost on fans.

Advertisement

Catch up with this week's episode of 888sport Football Friday Live