Eddie Jones names six uncapped players in strong England squad for Six Nations 4 months ago

Eddie Jones names six uncapped players in strong England squad for Six Nations

Eddie Jones has laid his cards on the table.

The England squad for the 2022 Six Nations has been named and there are a few new faces coming in for a taste of championship action.


As we saw last year, Jones looks to have moved on from Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola and George Ford. None of those experienced stars are included. Manu Tuilagi also misses out.

There are six uncapped players - Alfie Barbeary, Luke Northmore, George Freeman, Ollie Chessum, Orlando Bailey and Ollie Hassell-Collins. The England forward pack has more experienced heads, but Jones is definitely looking for new faces in his backline, to go with 2021 newcomers Harry Randall, Freddie Steward and Marcus Smith.

Joe Marler (pictured below) and Jamie George are included in the forwards selection, as are the likes of Maro Itoje, Ellis Genge, Sam Simmonds and Alex Dombrandt.


Joe Marler Eddie Jones shakes England prop Joe Marler's hand. (Credit: Getty Images)

England chasing fourth Six Nations title since 2016

Having won the Covid-delayed 2020 Six Nations, less than 16 months ago, England failed to defend their crown in last year's championship. Eddie Jones' men lost to Scotland and Wales either side of a home win against Italy. They then defeated France to dent their title hopes, but ended on a low after losing away to Ireland.


Jones gave out several Test debuts, last summer, for home wins against Canada and the USA. The Autumn Nations Series was positive, too, with victories over Tonga, Australia and South Africa.

England start their Six Nations campaign at Murrayfield as they try wrest the Calcutta Cup back from Scotland. They stay on the road when facing Italy in round two and then host Wales at home. They round out the championship by welcoming Ireland to Twickenham and finishing off in Paris against France.

Sam Underhill and Elliot Daly are both lacking game-time, said Jones, and could return later in the championship.




  • Alfie Barbeary (Wasps, uncapped)
  • Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 5 caps)
  • Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
  • Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 31 caps)
  • Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 36 caps)
  • Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 4 caps)
  • Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)
  • Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 31 caps)
  • Jamie George (Saracens, 61 caps)
  • Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps)
  • Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)
  • Maro Itoje (Saracens, 51 caps)
  • Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 90 caps)
  • Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 10 caps)
  • Joe Marler (Harlequins, 74 caps)
  • Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)
  • Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps)
  • Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 47 caps)
  • Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 15 caps)


  • Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap)
  • Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
  • Owen Farrell (Saracens, 94 caps)
  • Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
  • George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
  • Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish, uncapped)
  • Max Malins (Saracens, 10 caps)
  • Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 7 caps)
  • Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 69 caps)
  • Luke Northmore (Harlequins, uncapped)
  • Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 34 caps)
  • Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)
  • Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 2 caps)
  • Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 43 caps)
  • Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 5 caps)
  • Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)
  • Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 112 caps)