Everyone's saying the same thing about the Jordan Henderson headbutt incident
A yellow card for a headbutt?
It was late in the first half of the game between England vs Colombia in Tuesday night's World Cup round of 16 tie, and the Three Lions had just won a free-kick.
Tottenham full-back Kieran Trippier was lining up to take the free-kick, which had been awarded after Harry Kane was bundled off the ball, when an incident in the box caught the attention of the referee.
The incident involved England midfielder and captain Jordan Henderson, who had become engaged in a bit of a squabble with Colombia's Wilmar Barrios.
Henderson fell to the ground after the incident, with many seemingly believing that it was merely a case of shithousing, something we have plenty of in this tournament.
A closer look though revealed that Barrios had in fact headbutted Henderson in the box, something the England players knew immediately, and something they demanded the referee consult with VAR over.
Instead, the referee refused to consult VAR, and instead gave a yellow card to Barrios for the incident.
He didn't book Henderson though - as many referees would have - leading many fans to ask exactly how a referee can call for a foul in the box without awarding a penalty.
People, to say the least, were angry.
Yellow & no penalty for a headbutt????
— David 'Fred' Thorp (@Madtyke74) July 3, 2018
Since when has a head butt been a yellow card. But not a penalty
— Neil Fissler (@neilfissler) July 3, 2018
@prodnose yellow card means a foul...in the penalty area....surely a penalty???
— Ian Clark (@SparkyClark) July 3, 2018
If it's a yellow card must be a penalty
— Bob P (@bob1947p) July 3, 2018
How can you have a foul in the penalty area and not get a penalty?? Just a yellow card 🤔🤔
— Andrew Botchway (@MrBotch) July 3, 2018
If the geezer has just been given a yellow; why is not a penalty? Lol
— Justin Clark (@justinclark18) July 3, 2018
— Greg (@greg221190) July 3, 2018