The newest revelation about Uber adds an extra layer of creepiness 5 years ago

The newest revelation about Uber adds an extra layer of creepiness

If you live in a city where Uber operates, there's a good chance you'll be familiar with the transportation service, and indeed you may have even used it.

There have also been some horror stories in the past, though this isn't necessarily out of sync with any other transport company.

Advertisement

We've heard about the guy who was charged more than £100 for what should have been a £15 trip, though he was refunded, according to Uber.

More worrying, however, is the fact that the app knows when your battery is running low and reportedly uses that to its advantage.

And the latest Uber-related development has people even more concerned, as it has emerged that it now tracks your location even when you're not travelling - specifically for up to five minutes after a journey has ended.

Advertisement

Advertisement

According to the Daily Telegraph, the new feature is designed to stop drivers overcharging passengers by falsifying the time that a journey ends.

And, while some apps will allow you to have location services switched on only when you're actually using the app, this is not currently an option with Uber.

More than a few people have hit out at the feature, with plenty of complaints describing it as 'creepy'.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Catch up with this week's episode of Football Friday Live