The shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI includes two very odd Premier League names 4 years ago

The shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI includes two very odd Premier League names

FIFPro - the worldwide players' union - has announced its 55-man shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI.

Nearly 25,000 players voted in this year's ballot for their world team based on a 4-3-3 formation. The final XI will be announced at a glittering do in Zurich on January 11.

Ten English-based players make the cut - Eden Hazard, Sergio Aguero, Alexis Sanchez, John Terry, Yaya Toure, Vincent Kompany and David Silva. Oh, and rather bizarrely, Branislav Ivanovic and Wayne Rooney.

It is widely acknowledged that the two latter names have experienced the worst form of their respective careers in the calendar year of 2015, and yet they make the list over the likes of Mesut Ozil, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Chris Smalling.

The inclusion of both Rooney and Ivanovic has confused many - not least Man United and Chelsea fans...

The full shortlist is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/Porto), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern).

Defenders: David Alaba (Austria/Bayern), Jordi Alba (Spain/Barca), Jerome Boateng (Germany/Bayern), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juve), Dani Alves (Brazil/Barca), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia/Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern), Marcelo (Brazil/Real), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/Barca), Pepe (Portugal/Real), Gerard Piqué (Spain/Barca), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real), John Terry (England/Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil/PSG) and Raphael Varane (France/Real).

Midfielders: Thiago Alcantara (Spain/Bayern), Xabi Alonso (Spain/Bayern), Sergio Busquets (Spain/Barca), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barca), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/New York City FC), Paul Pogba (France/Juve), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/Barca), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real), David Silva (Spain/Man City), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast/Man City), Marco Verratti (Italy/PSG) and Arturo Vidal (Chile/Bayern).

Strikers: Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Man City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real), Karim Benzema (France/Real), Douglas Costa (Brazil/Bayern), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/PSG), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barca), Thomas Muller (Germany/Bayern), Neymar (Brazil/Barca), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/Bayern), Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Barca) and Carlos Tevez (Argentina/Boca Juniors).