Spain denied extra-time penalty despite review from VAR officials
Spain were frustrated by Russia on Sunday afternoon
Despite taking the lead through an own-goal from Sergei Ignashevich (which Sergio Ramos tried his hardest to claim for himself), Spain were pegged back before half-time. The ball struck the arm of Gerard Pique inside his own area, allowing Artem Dzyuba to level things from the spot.
From there on, the hosts were content to sit deep and deny Spain any clear-cut chances. In response Fernando Hierro's side were patient with possession, making World Cup history in becoming the first team since 1966 to rack up over 1000 passes in a game.
The game reached extra-time, and with a penalty shoot-out looming, Spain looked set to be given a chance to win it. A free-kick played into the box saw Ramos and Pique held by Russian defenders. The incident(s) wasn't spotted by the referee but when it emerged the VAR officials were reviewing it, it seemed inevitable that the spot-kick would be given.
Much to the surprise of everyone, however, it wasn't.
How can that NOT be a pen for Spain? VAR is bollocks. #ESPRUS
— Terry Jones (@MostonLane) July 1, 2018
I'm appalled by the VAR. That was a clear penalty in the box. Spain should have been awarded a PK.
— ClowderOf3 (@ClowderOf3) July 1, 2018
— Cycling the Spains (@cyclespains) July 1, 2018
— Ben Haynes (@B_Haynes10) July 1, 2018
The game went on to penalties, where missed penalties from Koke and Iago Aspas sent the hosts through to the quarter finals. We suspect we'll be hearing plenty more about this incident in the days to come.