Search icon


19th May 2023

KSI win over Joe Fournier changed to no decision following illegal elbow

Callum Boyle

KSI had initially been awarded a second round victory

KSI’s win against Joe Fournier has been overturned to a no decision.

The 29-year-old was initially awarded the victory thanks to a second round knockout win last weekend but footage showed the entertainer catching Fournier with an illegal elbow shot.

Despite KSI denying this was the case, Fournier lodged an appeal and the outcome has come out in his favour by the Professional Boxing Association (PBA).

A statement from the PBA on Friday confirmed that the decision had been ruled as a no decision as opposed to a disqualification as they ruled the elbow to be ‘accidental.’

They said: “Today, on 19th May 2023 Mr Joe Fournier and KSI were advised of a ‘Reviewed Decision’ that was undertaken by Mr Gareth Morris, the referee in charge of the bout on Saturday 13th May 2023 at the OVO Arena, Wembley, London, United Kingdom.

“Mr Fournier had submitted a protest and KSI responded following KSI’s Technical Knockout win in the second round of the fight.

“After a thorough review of the evidence and representations, along with the assistance of Mr Micky Vann (the Supervisor in charge) and an eminent Barrister (Mr Gul Nawaz Hussain KC of 33 Bedford Row Chambers, London) where necessary, Mr Morris came to an independent decision.

“Even though KSI was winning the fight, the blow with the forearm/elbow has been found to be accidental and the obvious disappointment that will follow, it has been decided that the contest is declared a No Decision in accordance with the Rules.  

“The PBA has conducted the review properly, fairly and with legal assistance throughout as the bout was sanctioned and regulated under the unified rules of boxing. 

“We have ensured that this process was conducted swiftly and fairly to uphold the integrity of boxing.”

Watch KSI’s trainer react to the elbow incident here:

Related links: