Jose Mourinho makes penalty complaint with petty Instagram post 9 months ago

Jose Mourinho makes penalty complaint with petty Instagram post

Amazing levels of pettiness from Mourinho

Jose Mourinho has taken to social media to moan about a penalty decision that went against Roma last month.


During Roma's away clash against Juventus on October 17, Mourinho's side were awarded a penalty after Henrikh Mkhitaryan was fouled by goalkeeper Wojciech Szczęsny.

Jordan Veretout took the spot-kick, but his effort was saved by the Polish shot-stopper and the home side were able to hold onto their 1-0 lead - courtesy of Moise Kean's first-half strike - and secure all three points.


On Tuesday night, Massimiliano Allegri's men were awarded a penalty against Zenit Saint Petersburg in their Group H Champions League clash.

After going into the half-time break drawing 1-1, with Leonardo Bonucci's own-goal cancelling out Paulo Dybala's opener, the Old Lady were given a spot-kick in the 58th minute when Federico Chiesa was brought-down inside the penalty area.

However, the Argentinian frontman smashed his penalty wide, only to be allowed to retake the kick after Wilmar Barrios was adjudged to have entered the box before the penalty was taken.

The Juventus captain made no mistake with his second attempt, punishing the away side and helping the men in black and white to an important victory - one that secured their progression into the knockout stages of the competition.


Following the incident, Mourinho took Instagram to compare the two situations.

He said: "One had to be retaken, one hadn't... Guess which".


The former Chelsea and Spurs manager was evidently frustrated that there had been a lack of consistency with the decisions, and he was keen to make his feelings known publicly.

Although I Giallorossi's loss to the 36-time Italian champions occurred nearly three weeks ago, seeing what happened in Juve's tie against Zenit clearly angered the Portuguese manager.

Related links: