Search icon


29th Mar 2018

Danny Simpson has shared his PFA Team of the Year

He voted for Mohamed Salah as player of the year, but there's one strange omission from the side

Robert Redmond

Danny Simpson has shared his PFA Team of the Year on Twitter, and it’s difficult to argue with most of his selections.

The Premier League season is drawing to a close, and the PFA Player of the Year award will be handed out soon, as will the award for the Team of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

By now, most Premier League footballers will have submitted their votes for the awards. For most of the season, it appeared as though Kevin De Bruyne was certain to win the award for the best player.

However, the stunning form of Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah may have changed how players chose to vote.

The Egyptian forward has scored an astonishing 28 goals in 30 Premier League matches this season, producing one of the best individual seasons ever seen in the English top-flight. The Liverpool forward has received Simpson’s vote for PFA Player of the Year.

The Leicester City full-back shared his Team of the Year on Twitter, and it features seven Manchester City players.

Here’s his team:

Simpson voted for David de Gea as the best goalkeeper, which isn’t a surprise as the Manchester United ‘keeper has been brilliant all season.

In defence, Simpson chose City pair Kyle Walker and Nicolas Otamendi alongside Tottenham full-back Ben Davies and James Tarkowski of Burnley, who earned his first cap for England earlier this week.

In midfield, he voted for David Silva, De Bruyne and Leroy Sane, who also received Simpson’s vote for the Young Player of the Year award. For the front three, Simpson chose Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero and Salah.

It could be argued that Harry Kane or Roberto Firmino warrant a vote ahead of Aguero, but it’s Simpson’s team and he has played against these players this season. Aguero scored four goals against Simpson’s Leicester in February, and this may have swayed his vote.

Here’s his team in full:

                                         David De Gea

Kyle Walker, Nicolas Otamendi, James Tarkowski, Ben Davies

Leroy Sane, Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva

Rahem Sterling, Sergio Aguero Mohamed Salah