Search icon


30th Nov 2018

Another Tory minister resigns over Theresa May’s Brexit deal

Sam Gyimah, goodbye

Oli Dugmore

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM - APRIL 10: Prime Minister David Cameron (R) leaves Downing Street with his Parliamentary Private Secretary Sam Gyimah on April 10, 2013 in London, England. Parliament has been recalled today to allow MPs and Peers to pay their respects to former Prime Minister Lady Thatcher who died on April 8, 2013. (Photo by Peter Macdiarmid/Getty Images)

Sam Gyimah, goodbye

Just when you thought it had all gone quiet, that Theresa May might survive until her judgement day once the UK exits the European Union on March 29, 2019, another government minister resigns.

Sam Gyimah tendered his resignation as universities minister on Friday evening, November 30.

He is the seventh government minister to resign since Theresa May’s draft Brexit agreement was announced.

He said he would not be voting for Theresa May’s draft Brexit agreement when it is presented to parliament on December 11 and would therefore resign.

After five senior Tories submitted their own letters of surrender to Theresa May in the space of 24 hours all has gone quiet on the resignation front, until Gyimah fired his howitzer.

They are Rehman Chishti, Suella Braverman, work and pensions secretary Esther McVeyBrexit Secretary Dominic Raab and Northern Ireland minister Shailesh Vara. And now Sam Gyimah. Here’s a list of all the departures so far.

Gyimah wrote a Facebook status over 1,000 words long explaining his decision.

He said: “The grit and determination demonstrated by the Prime Minister should be an inspiration to us all. I am saddened, as an early and vocal backer of her leadership, to have reached a cross-roads where I cannot support her on this crucial issue.”

The Conservative front bench is in the process of being obliterated, as a wave of its politicians make the decision to put career over country.

It is likely more will come, and perhaps even trigger a leadership contest against the Prime Minister.