Search icon


20th May 2023

Why Man City won’t have the Champions League badge on their kit even if they win it

Callum Boyle

Man City

Sorry to disappoint

Manchester City fans have already been dreaming about the prospect of becoming European champions for the first time.

City are one game away from winning the Champions League but will have to beat Inter Milan on June 10 in Istanbul after hammering Real Madrid 4-0 to win 5-1 on aggregate.

When sides have won the Champions League in the past, they will wear a special badge the following season however Man City will not be one of those lucky ones.

This is because sides who have won the European cup once in their history don’t qualify for the UEFA Badge of Honour.

Having been introduced in the 2000/2001 campaign, clubs who have won five times of three-in-a-row. Those who currently qualify for this are: Barcelona, Liverpool, Ajax, Bayern Munich, AC Milan, Sevilla and Real Madrid.

Although they would miss out on the badge, Man City fans will still be excited by the prospect that they could win a historic treble.

Pep Guardiola’s side are one win away from retaining their Premier League crown, providing Arsenal haven’t been beaten by Nottingham Forest before they play on Sunday against Chelsea.

They also have the chance to win the FA Cup final, facing their city rivals Manchester United at Wembley Stadium on June 3.

Related links: