Search icon


12th Aug 2015

Messi, Ronaldo and Suarez shortlisted for UEFA Best Player in Europe Award


UEFA have announced Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez as the final nominees for the Best Player in Europe Award 2014/15.

The award is voted for by journalists from each of UEFA’s 54 member associations, and is based on performances from the previous season.

The rest of the top 10 are below:

4 Gianluigi Buffon (Italy – Juventus)
5 Neymar (Brazil – Barcelona)
6 Eden Hazard (Belgium – Chelsea)
7 Andrea Pirlo (Italy – Juventus)
8 Arturo Vidal (Chile – Juventus, now Bayern München)
9 Carlos Tévez (Argentina – Juventus, now Boca Juniors)
10 Paul Pogba (France – Juventus)

There are no English players in the top 30, although Welshman Gareth Bale is joint 19th. Apart from Chelsea’s Eden Hazard (6), the only other Premier League based players are Alexis Sánchez (23), Nemanja Matić and Roberto Firmino (both joint 28).

The jury will cast their votes for the outright winner during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on August 27.

Past winners include Messi (2011), Andrés Iniesta (2012), Franck Ribéry (2013) and Ronaldo (2014).