Search icon


12th May 2019

Manchester City beat Brighton 4-1 to be crowned Premier League champions

Manchester City have become the first team to retain the Premier League title in 10 years after beating Brighton and Hove Albion at the Amex

Reuben Pinder

Manchester City are champions with 98 points in total

So there we go. No last minute drama. No Glenn Murray inspired upset to hand Liverpool the title. Order has been restored. Manchester City are champions after an emphatic 4-1 win over Brighton at the Amex Stadium.

For a moment, the trophy was in Liverpool’s hands, after Murray put Brighton ahead early in the first half with a near post header. Any hope of an upset was short lived, however, as Man City promptly responded, equalising through the ever-reliable Sergio Aguero.

Laporte then put City back in control with a headed goal from a corner, before a long-range screamer from Riyad Mahrez gave City a two goal cushion. Finally, in the 72nd minute, a beautifully curled free-kick from Ilkay Gundogan put the result beyond doubt.

Liverpool did their bit, beating Wolves 2-0, but could not rely on Brighton to do them a favour. The Reds finish the season in second place with 97 points – a noble effort, I’m sure you’ll agree.

Jurgen Klopp’s side still have the Champions League to play for, though, after their spectacular comeback against Barcelona during the week.