Liverpool take lead through Mo Salah's controversially awarded penalty 2 months ago

Liverpool take lead through Mo Salah's controversially awarded penalty

Drama inside the first 25 seconds in Madrid

Liverpool's Champions League final got off to the perfect start in Madrid on Saturday night.

Approaching the penalty area for the first time, it was ruled that Moussa Sissoko had illegally handled the ball inside the box after just 22 seconds.

Thought the French international's arm was clearly up as Sadio Mane attempted to cross the ball towards Roberto Firmino, the ball appeared to hit his chest before rebounding on to his arm.

Mo Salah made no mistake from the penalty spot to give Jurgen Klopp's side a lead inside two minutes.


Plenty of those watching thought the decision was harsh on Spurs...

Others who thought the decision was correct pointed out that Sissoko's arm was unnecessarily high at the time the ball hit it...