Search icon


21st May 2018

Only four Premier League players have made it into Spain’s World Cup squad

The manager has been ruthless with his selection

Wayne Farry

Julen Lopetegui has been ruthless in his selection

Spain has announced its squad for this summer’s World Cup in Russia and there are just four Premier League players in it.

Manager Julen Lopetegui was spoiled for choice with his selection and its reflected in the quality of his squad, which had no room for Alvaro Morata, Hector Bellerin, Ander Herrera or Juan Mata.

Arsenal defender Nacho Monreal does make it into the squad however in what is a reward for his fine form during what was a difficult season at the Emirates.

Cesar Azpilicueta has also been named in the squad after a consistent season for Chelsea, while Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea and Manchester City midfielder David Silva compete the quartet.

After his big money move from Real Madrid last summer Morata will be disappointed at his failure to make the final squad, with Diego Costa, Lucas Vasquez, Rodrigo and former Liverpool forward Iago Aspas all favoured over him.

A host of other extremely talented players also missed out on the squad, with Chelsea’s Marcos Alonso, Bayern Munich’s Javi Martinez and Real Betis’ Marc Bartra all left out.