Search icon


04th Jun 2018

Leroy Sane omitted from Germany World Cup squad

This is a huge snub

Ben Kiely

Germany have announced their squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup

World Cup holders Germany have turned some heads with their 23-man squad for the 2018 tournament.

The good news for German fans is the inclusion of Manuel Neuer. The shot-stopper missed a lot of action this season due to rotten luck with injuries. However, the Bayern Munich man came through the friendly defeat to Austria on Saturday unscathed.

The big surprise of the announcement is the omission of Manchester City’s Leroy Sane. Boss Jogi Low has instead opted to bring Bayer Leverkusen’s Julian Brandt.


Sane has had an unreal season, playing 32 times in the Citizens’ Premier League-winning campaign.  The 22-year-old scored 14 times in 49 games in all competitions last season. He was also shortlisted for the PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Despite starting in the Austria game and staying on the field for 67 minutes, he was a notable absentee in the squad which you can see in full below.

GK: Manuel Neuer, Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Kevin Trapp

DF: Jerome Boateng, Matthias Ginter, Jonas Hector, Mats Hummels, Joshua Kimmich, Marvin Plattenhardt, Antonio Rudiger, Niklas Sule

MF: Julian Brandt, Julian Draxler, Leon Goretzka, Ilkay Gundogan, Sami Khedira, Toni Kroos, Mesut Ozil, Sebastian Rudy

FW: Timo Werner, Mario Gomez, Thomas Muller, Marco Reus,