Search icon


01st May 2018

Mo Salah named the FWA Footballer of the Year

Salah was also named the PFA Player of the Year last week

Simon Lloyd

Liverpool’s Mo Salah has been named the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year.

The news comes days after the Egyptian international also picked up the PFA Player of the Year award.

Salah moved to Anfield from AS Roma last summer, having previously played in the Premier League with Chelsea.

Despite failing to make an impact with the west London club, the 25-year-old has enjoyed an incredible debut season for Jürgen Klopp’s side – scoring 43 goals in all competitions and equalling the Premier League scoring record jointly held by Alan Shearer, Luis Suarez and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Although he failed to score in the goalless draw with Stoke City at the weekend, Salah has two more opportunities to break the record in Liverpool’s remaining league fixtures – away to Chelsea on Sunday and at home to Brighton on the final day of the season.

In the Champions League, Salah has helped his side to the brink of the final, scoring twice against former club Roma in a 5-2 first leg semi-final victory at Anfield last week. He and his teammates will hope to seal their place in Kiev in the Stadio Olimpico on Wednesday night.

Kevin De Bruyne, who has also enjoyed an impressive season in helping Manchester City to the Premier League title, came runner-up in the FWA Award.