Everybody is confused why Kortney Hause wasn't sent off for Aston Villa 8 months ago

Everybody is confused why Kortney Hause wasn't sent off for Aston Villa

The Villa defender caught Pablo Fornals with a flailing arm and wasn't shown a red card

Aston Villa were beaten comfortably by West Ham United on Sunday afternoon, but people have been left confused as to why Kortney Hause wasn't sent off.

Advertisement

Goals from Ben Johnson, Declan Rice, Pablo Fornals and Jarrod Bowen cancelled out Ollie Watkins' first-half equaliser to give David Moyes' side a deserved win.

During the second-half there was a frantic moment as Hause caught Fornals with a flailing arm only for Bowen to be fouled by Ezri Konsa just seconds later.

Referee Chris Kavanagh blew for a free-kick during the second incident which prompted both challenges to be checked by VAR, however whilst Hause's challenge looked the more likely red card, it was in fact Konsa who was given his marching orders.

Advertisement

The reasoning behind this was that the Villa defender was deemed to have denied Bowen a clear goalscoring opportunity, whilst Hause somehow managed to avoid a card altogether.

And in the Sky Sports  studio, there was confusion as to how Hause hadn't been sent off and that it was a clear red card.

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink said: "That for me, that is 100 per cent a red card.

"Look at his left elbow, he knows exactly what he's doing.

Advertisement

"That is endangering the player, his left elbow goes to the chin and I don't understand how you can't see it."

He's not the only person to think that as well, with several fans also agreeing on Twitter.

Advertisement

One fan said: "No clue why it's still a question. Red any day of the week."

 

Another user then felt that referee Chris Kavanagh was reluctant to hand out two red cards claiming: "Is it a case of the ref bottling 2 reds or that the elbow is genuinely not a red? Interesting…"

Advertisement

Related links: