Search icon


13th Mar 2019

Declan Rice earns first England call-up as Southgate names squad for opening Euro 2020 qualifiers

Wayne Farry

declan rice

A lot of fresh faces in there

Gareth Southgate has named his squad for England’s opening 2020 European Championships qualifiers.

England will start their Euro 2020 qualification campaign against the Czech Republic at Wembley on Friday 22 March, before they travel to face Montenegro in Podgorica three days later.

West Ham United midfielder and FAI Young Player of the Year Declan Rice is the only uncapped player called up to the squad after a season which has seen him impress hugely in Manuel Pellegrini’s midfield.

Rice was named Ireland’s Young Player of the Year on Tuesday after three senior appearances for the Boys in Green in 2018, and his week will only have improved after receiving a deserved call-up to Southgate’s squad.

Elsewhere, Borussia Dortmund wunderkind Jadon Sancho has once again been called up, while Burnley number one Tom Heaton returns to the squad, his last call-up coming prior to the World Cup last summer.

Despite their good form this season, there is no place for James Ward-Prowse, Conor Coady, Aaron Wan-Bissaka or Angus Gunn in the squad.

The full squad can be seen below:

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Ben Chilwell (Leicester City), Dele (Tottenham Hotspur), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Keane (Everton), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), John Stones (Manchester City), James Tarkowski (Burnley), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (AFC Bournemouth)