David Ospina's failure to remember rule costs Alexis Sanchez's Chile a place at the World Cup
After all the talk of Argentina potentially missing out on next summer's World Cup, up stepped Lionel Messi to put in a heroic performance for his country in Ecuador.
The Barcelona star scored a hat-trick in Quito, helping Argentina to a 3-1 win which was enough to see them seal their spot in next summer's tournament.
Joining them in Russia are Brazil, Uruguay and Colombia. Peru's fifth place finish means they will now face a play-off against New Zealand to determine if there will be five South American teams at the World Cup.
The big losers of a dramatic final round of qualifiers in South American were Chile - winners of the last two Copa America titles.
Having started the day in third, Chile found themselves 2-0 down to already-qualified Brazil in the closing stages of their game in São Paulo. The scores elsewhere meant that this would've seen them slip from third to the play-off position.
However, a late equaliser for Peru against Colombia in Lima meant that Chile would be eliminated unless they were to score a goal against Brazil.
It wasn't to be. Their desperate late attempts to reduce the deficit saw Gabriel Jesus add a third for Brazil. Chile will be staying at home next summer.
As if all this wasn't already difficult enough for Alexis Sanchez and his countrymen to stomach, the circumstances of Peru's crucial equaliser make things even worse.
The goal came courtesy of of a set-piece from Paolo Guerrero. Arsenal's David Ospina got a touch on the ball but couldn't keep it out. This said, he didn't have to try and keep it out...
Guerrero's goal by Peruvian TV.
Narrator: "Indirect free-kick, Paolo!
He takes it... GOAL!
He (Ospina) touched it!
He touched it!" pic.twitter.com/ihNUlVRT3W
— FlamengoENG: Следуйте за лидером (@FlamengoENG) October 11, 2017
The free-kick from which Guerrero scored from was indirect, meaning the goal wouldn't have been awarded were it not for Ospina's touch. Referee Sandro Ricci pointed towards the goalkeeper when some of Ospina's teammates appealed that the free-kick had been indirect.
This should make for an awkward moment when Sanchez and Ospina are reunited at Arsenal's training ground later this week.