Danny Care and Marcus Smith start together in England team to face Australia 1 month ago

Danny Care and Marcus Smith start together in England team to face Australia

The Quins half backs will get their first start together in Test rugby.

Eddie Jones has fully embraced the returning Danny Care as the veteran scrumhalf starts in his England team to face the Wallabies in this weekend's First Test.


The England head coach has opted for a lot of familiar faces to take on the Aussies, with several of them having toured here, and won, back in 2016. At scrumhalf, Danny Care will start for the first time since November 2018, with Harlequins teammate and Marcus Smith named outhalf.

Courtney Lawes captains England from the blindside, with Maro Itoje, Jamie George, Tom Curry, Ellis Genge and Billy Vunipola all included in a strong starting pack.

England team


"We'll take it to them" - Eddie Jones

Three players could make their England debuts from the bench - Guy Porter, Jack van Poortvliet and apprentice player Henry Arundell. They are joined by Luke Cowan-Dickie, Mako Vunipola, Joe Heyes, Ollie Chessum and Lewis Ludlam.

"We have had very strong preparation for this game. We did some good recovery work in Fremantle and quality training in Perth," said Jones. "The squad has come together well since we met up last week.

"Picking the 23 out of this group of 36 was difficult. We feel we have a well-balanced team which is ready for this improving Australia team. We’ll take it to them from the start."

Lock Charlie Ewels suffered a knee injury in training on Wednesday 29 June which has ruled him out of England’s tour of Australia. Sam Jeffries has been called up to the squad.


Australia also named their team, on Thursday, with veteran outhalf Quade Cooper handed the No.10 jersey for this Saturday's big game.


15. Freddie Steward
14. Jack Nowell
13. Joe Marchant
12. Owen Farrell
11. Joe Cokanasiga
10. Marcus Smith
9. Danny Care

1. Ellis Genge
2. Jamie George
3. Will Stuart
4. Maro Itoje
5. Jonny Hill
6. Courtney Lawes (C)
7. Tom Curry
8. Billy Vunipola

REPLACEMENTS Luke Cowan-Dickie, Mako Vunipola, Joe Heyes, Ollie Chessum, Lewis Ludlam, Jack van Poortlviet, Guy Porter, Henry Arundell


Related links: