Search icon


14th Dec 2018

Standing ovation for David Dimbleby’s final Question Time

Farewell Dimblebot, it's been a fucking blast

Oli Dugmore

LONDON - JUNE 8: Question Time host David Dimbleby signs copies of his new publication "A Picture Of Britain", and promotes BBC One series of the same name, at Borders, Oxford Street on June 8, 2005 in London, England. (Photo by MJ Kim/Getty Images)

Farewell Dimblebot, it’s been a fucking blast

David Dimbleby’s storied time as chair of Question Time came to an end on Thursday night, after 25 years.

The 80-year-old hero said he was not leaving broadcasting but intended to return to his “first love” – reporting.

He received a standing ovation from the audience and panellists at the close of the programme.

At the end Dimbleby said: “This programme marks the end of my tenure as the chair… after a quarter of a century I’m off to new pastures, or at least in search of new pastures, but I didn’t want to end without saying something about this programme.

“It is, of all the programmes I’ve ever work on for the BBC, a truly team effort and I did want to end by thanking the people who have made it possible over the past 25 years.

“Above all I wanted to thank you here tonight – this audience. You’re joining over 100,000 people over the past 25 years who have been in the Question Time audience and who’ve exercised what I think is a really important democratic right: putting questions to the panel and to argue with each other as you have been tonight.”

Piers Morgan, Julia Hartley-Brewer and Iain Dale all paid tribute to the broadcasting totem.

Dimbleby’s final panel featured David Davis, Nicky Morgan, Angela Rayner, Caroline Lucas and Jo Brand.