Legendary Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr releases new track 'Hi Hello' 4 years ago

Legendary Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr releases new track 'Hi Hello'

New Johnny Marr? Yes, please

Johnny Marr preps us for his forthcoming new album with new single "Hi Hello".


Marr said of the new single:

“It was one of the songs that just fell into my hands and mind as I was playing. The tune evoked something natural so I just followed it and it felt like I had to sing something personal, something we might all feel about someone sometime.”

Set to land on the legendary Smiths guitarist's third solo album, Call the Comet, due out June 15th, "Hi Hello" is the follow up to "The Tracers".


Watch the video for "Hi Hello" below:

"Call the Comet is my own magic realism," says Marr of his new album. "It’s set in the not-too-distant future and is mostly concerned with the idea of an alternative society. The characters in the songs are searching for a new idealism, although there are some personal songs in there too. It’s something that people like me can relate to."

Call the Comet's tracklisting is as follows:

  1. "Rise"
  2. "The Tracers"
  3. "Hey Angel"
  4. "Hi Hello"
  5. "New Dominions"
  6. "Day In Day Out"
  7. "Walk Into The Sea"
  8. "Bug"
  9. "Actor Attractor"
  10. "Spiral Cities"
  11. "My Eternal"
  12. "A Different Gun"

Call The Comet arrives June 15th and is now available to pre-order here.