Wimbledon concede bizarre equaliser after 'keeper gives away idiotic free kick
The goalkeeper will not want to see this again
AFC Wimbledon were denied all three points against Fleetwood after goalkeeper Nik Tzanev conceded a bizarre free-kick which the Cods converted.
The Dons were leading Stephen Crainey's side 1-0 thanks to Luke McCormick's goal until the 88th minute, when Joe Garner scored a vital equaliser for the home side.
As Wimbledon shot-stopper Tzanev lined-up to take a free-kick from just outside his penalty area, he bizarrely took a touch and rolled the ball before lumping it up the pitch.
Given that he had committed a foul - by touching the ball twice before another player had touched it - a foul was given and Fleetwood were awarded an indirect free-kick.
While the initial free-kick was awarded on the line of Tzanev's box, the resulting free-kick was strangely taken from just inside the area.
With a crowded box, Garner did incredibly well to stroke his strike past the onrushing defenders and Tzanev - sparking wild celebrations.
Just when you think AFC Wimbledon have run out of ways to throw away leads… pic.twitter.com/5BQIEtP6P6
— Edward Walker (@edward_w97) April 23, 2022
The result means that Wimbledon sit three points behind Fleetwood and remain in the relegation zone, with the Cods also having a game in hand over Saturday's opponents.
Mark Robinson's men are now staring at relegation from League One and are unlikely to be able to catch Fleetwood an escape the drop.
- Nemanja Matic channels inner Mourinho during row with Arsenal fans
- Paul Scholes says Jesse Lingard told him Man United dressing room ‘a disaster’
- Arsenal awarded controversial penalty against Man United after VAR rules out goal