Search icon


21st Apr 2016

The Premier League team of the year has been announced

You can't argue with that...

Tom Victor

Arsenal fans won’t be happy with this.

Mesut Ozil has been left out of the PFA Premier League team of the year, despite being by far the brightest spark in a season which looks like fizzling out for the Gunners.

The North London club do at least have one representative in the form of right-back Hector Bellerin, but the XI is largely dominated by players from Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur.

Both teams have four representatives – Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez, N’Golo Kante and Wes Morgan for the league leaders, and Harry Kane, Dele Alli, Danny Rose and Toby Alderweireld for their nearest challengers.

The team is completed by West Ham playmaker Dimitri Payet and Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea.