Search icon


20th Sep 2017

Man City fans aren’t impressed with the nominations for the FIFPro World 11

To be fair, you can't blame them...


With good reason, Manchester City fans weren’t too happy with the shortlist for this years’s FIFA FIFPro World11.

The World11 is to be announced in London next month, with one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards to be selected from the 55-man shortlist.

On that shortlist, there are 12 Premier League-based players: six from Manchester United, two each from Arsenal and Chelsea and one each from Liverpool and Tottenham. City, however, don’t have a single player in contention.

Decided by the players themselves, it seems strange that some of City’s stars – most notably the likes of Sergio Aguero, David Silva and Kevin De Bruyne – have all been overlooked by their fellow professionals.

Many of the club’s supporters were quick to express their surprise at the news on social media…

The full list is made up of the following players:


Gianluigi Buffon (ITA/Juventus), David De Gea (ESP/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (CRC/Real Madrid CF), Manuel Neuer (GER/Bayern München), Jan Oblak (SVN/Atletico Madrid)


David Alaba (AUT/Bayern München), Jordi Alba (ESP/FC Barcelona), Dani Alves (BRA/Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain), Jerome Boateng (GER/Bayern München), Leonardo Bonucci (ITA/Juventus/AC Milan), Dani Carvajal (ESP/Real Madrid CF), Giorgio Chiellini (ITA/Juventus), Diego Godin (URU/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (GER/Bayern München), Philipp Lahm (GER/Bayern München), David Luiz (BRA/Chelsea), Marcelo (BRA/Real Madrid CF), Javier Mascherano (ARG/FC Barcelona), Pepe (POR/Real Madrid CF/Besiktas), Gerard Pique (ESP/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (ESP/Real Madrid CF), Thiago Silva (BRA/Paris Saint-Germain), Samuel Umtiti (FRA/FC Barcelona), Antonio Valencia (ECU/Manchester United), Raphael Varane (FRA/Real Madrid CF)


Thiago Alcantara (ESP/Bayern München), Sergio Busquets (ESP/FC Barcelona), Casemiro (BRA/Real Madrid CF), Philippe Coutinho (BRA/Liverpool), Eden Hazard (BEL/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (ESP/FC Barcelona), Isco (ESP/Real Madrid CF), N’Golo Kante (FRA/Chelsea), Toni Kroos (GER/Real Madrid CF), Nemanja Matic (SRB/Chelsea/Manchester United), Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid CF), Mesut Ozil (GER/Arsenal), Paul Pogba (FRA/Manchester United), Marco Verratti (ITA/Paris Saint-Germain), Arturo Vidal (CHI/Bayern München)


Gareth Bale (WAL/Real Madrid CF), Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid CF), Edinson Cavani (URU/Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Real Madrid CF), Paulo Dybala (ARG/Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (FRA/Atletico Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE/Manchester United), Harry Kane (ENG/Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern München), Romelu Lukaku (BEL/Everton/Manchester United), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/Monaco/Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (ARG/FC Barcelona), Neymar (BRA/FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain), Alexis Sanchez (CHI/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (URU/FC Barcelona)