Search icon


22nd Apr 2024

Three new names inducted into Premier League Hall of Fame

Callum Boyle

Premier League Hall of Fame

The announcement was made on Monday

The Premier League have confirmed that three new names have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

John Terry and Andy Cole are the latest to join the illustrious list of names already nominated.

Both players were selected from a shortlist of 15 former players after votes from fans worldwide were combined with those of the Premier League Awards Panel.

They also join Ashley Cole, who was recently inducted and the three will be recognised at a celebratory event in London on Tuesday.

Cole, who is the fourth-highest goalscorer in Premier League history said: “I’m proud of everything I’ve achieved in football, which is thanks to my family, my coaches and my team-mates, and being inducted into the Hall of Fame makes me very proud.

“Football is a game of ups and downs, but I enjoyed every single minute of my career. My dad wanted me to play cricket, but I said, ‘No dad, I think I’m good at football.’ Looking back at my career always fills me with great pride and puts a smile on my face.

“The reason you play football and compete at the highest level is to win major honours. It was so, so special for me to win so many trophies and five Premier Leagues. To get my first one was crazy and after that I just wanted to win more.”

Premier League Hall of Fame

Terry added: “I’m very grateful to have been voted into the Premier League Hall of Fame. I’m a player that certainly gave my all whenever I stepped out on the pitch and to be recognised in this way makes me really proud.

“It’s great to have joined my former team-mates who have already been inducted, and to be inducted in the same year as Ashley Cole, who was an incredible player and a close friend.

“I was lucky to share a dressing room with so many top players. To captain a club like Chelsea and achieve what we did as a team is so special to me. The Premier League is the best league in the world, which every player hopes to play in, and I’m very proud to have won it five times.”

Related links: