Search icon


12th Mar 2022

Brighton goalkeeper Robert Sánchez escapes booking after horrific clash with Luis Díaz

Callum Boyle

Sánchez wasn’t even booked

Brighton and Hove Albion goalkeeper Robert Sánchez was fortunate not to be cautioned following a late challenge on Luis Díaz in the build-up to Liverpool’s first goal.

Jurgen Klopp’s side took the lead at the Amex Stadium after the January signing got on the end of a brilliant ball from Joël Matip to head home into the empty net.

However, as Díaz raced to latch onto the ball he was caught by Sánchez as the Brighton ‘keeper rushed off his line and clattered into the Colombian international.

Despite finding the back of the net, the 25-year-old was left on the ground and received treatment before eventually being given the all clear to continue.

The challenge was looked at however VAR official Stuart Attwell determined that the Spanish goalkeeper wasn’t in need of being cautioned – with referee Mike Dean also not advised to take a look at the monitor by the pitch.

While Sánchez continued without receiving a yellow or red, fans and sports stars were left shocked by the decision, with many believing that had Díaz not scored, Sánchez may have been punished even more.

Jamie Carragher said: “I’m convinced the red card wasn’t given because it was a goal. That header goes past the post & it’s a red card. It’s almost like, a goal is enough.”

One user tweeted: “Sanchez wasn’t even booked there. Difficult one really. Perhaps they thought the goal was enough. It would have been a penalty otherwise. Remember – Stuart Attwell the VAR today and he’ll have made the decision on the red card.”

Another user said: “If between them Mike Dean and Stuart Attwell can’t see that Sanchez challenge on Diaz is a red card then they should both be sacked.”

A fourth user said: “How is that not a red card on Robert Sanchez? If he’s not a goalkeeper that’s a definite straight red.”

Related links: