Does this picture prove Arsenal's dramatic late winner against Burnley should not have stood? 5 years ago

Does this picture prove Arsenal's dramatic late winner against Burnley should not have stood?

Arsenal's 2-1 win over Burnley had one of the most dramatic ends to a Premier League match seen all season.

First, with 93 minutes on the clock there was a penalty awarded to Burnley and duly dispatched by Andre Gray to level the score at 1-1.

Advertisement

Then Arsene Wenger was sent off and got involved with a bit of argy-bargy with fourth official Anthony Taylor.

And then with 98 minutes played, referee Jon Moss awarded Arsenal their own penalty when Ben Mee was judged to have clipped Laurent Koscielny's head with a high boot in the area.

Alexis Sanchez put away the spot kick - but does this image (from Sky Sports) show that the Arsenal defender was offside before the penalty was awarded?

Advertisement

Some Burnley fans were quick to point out that it's not the first time this season that Arsenal have perhaps benefited from a late intervention by a possibly offside Koscielny to take victory in a match, after his winner at Turf Moor back in October.

Oh well Burnley fans. At least you don't have to play them again this season...

Catch up with this week's episode of 888sport Football Friday Live:

Advertisement