Search icon


22nd Aug 2016

Conor McGregor and Nate Diaz top list of disclosed payouts for UFC 202 by a huge margin

Cash cash money

Ben Kiely

Jessie J always told us it’s not all about the money, money, money.

But it certainly helps.

On Saturday night it was a war for the ages and both Conor McGregor and Nate Diaz were paid handsomely for their performances in UFC 202’s main event, as the disclosed fighter payouts for the event show.

It turns out Nate Diaz was right when he said he was the “real money fight” for Conor McGregor. The numbers don’t lie.


We already knew before the event that the headliners would be receiving unprecedented purses, with the sum total of their disclosed earnings coming to a staggering $5 million. They also both banked a further $50,000 for receiving the Fight of the Night accolade.

Anthony Johnson and Donald Cerrone were the only other two fighters to break the $100k mark, earning $270,000 and $170,000 respectively. Both fighters also received the two Performance of the Night bonuses worth 50 Gs apiece.


Here’s a look at the full breakdown courtesy of the Nevada State Athletic Commission. As always, these do not include pay-per-view cuts, sponsor payouts or other discretionary bonuses.

Conor McGregor: $3 million (no win bonus)
def. Nate Diaz: $2 million

Anthony Johnson: $270,000 (includes $135,000 win bonus)
def. Glover Teixeira: $65,000

Donald Cerrone: $170,000 (includes $85,000 win bonus)
def. Rick Story: $41,000

Mike Perry: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Hyun Gyu Lim: $18,000

Tim Means: $62,000 (includes $31,000 win bonus)
def. Sabah Homasi: $12,000

Cody Garbrandt: $54,000 (includes $27,000 win bonus)
def. Takeya Mizugaki: $39,000

Raquel Pennington: $46,000 (includes $23,000 win bonus)
def. Elizabeth Phillips: $12,000

Artem Lobov: $26,000 (includes $13,000 win bonus)
def. Chris Avila: $10,000

Cortney Casey: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus)
def. Randa Markos: $14,000

Lorenz Larkin: $78,000 (includes $39,000 win bonus)
def. Neil Magny: $47,000

Colby Covington: $42,000 (includes $21,000 win bonus)
def. Max Griffin: $10,000

Marvin Vettori: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Alberto Uda: $10,000

Reebok payouts (via MMA Junkie):

Conor McGregor: $40,000 def. Nate Diaz: $20,000
Anthony Johnson: $15,000 def. Glover Teixeira: $10,000
Donald Cerrone: $20,000 def. Rick Story: $15,000
Mike Perry: $2,500 def. Hyun Gyu Lim: $5,000
Tim Means: $10,000 def. Sabah Homasi: $2,500

Cody Garbrandt: $2,500 def. Takeya Mizugaki: $15,000
Raquel Pennington: $5,000 def. Elizabeth Phillips: $2,500
Artem Lobov: $2,500 def. Chris Avila: $2,500
Cortney Casey: $2,500 def. Randa Markos: $2,500

Lorenz Larkin: $10,000 def. Neil Magny: $10,000
Colby Covington: $5,000 def. Max Griffin: $2,500
Marvin Vettori: $2,500 def. Alberto Uda: $2,500

Performance bonuses ($50,000 to each fighter)

Fight of the Night: Conor McGregor vs Nate Diaz
Performance of the Night: Anthony Johnson
Performance of the Night: Donald Cerrone

Read more from SportsJOE:


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required