JOE is proud to announce the hire of Tony Barrett as Chief Football Writer 3 years ago

JOE is proud to announce the hire of Tony Barrett as Chief Football Writer

JOE Media is today announcing the signing of Tony Barrett as Chief Football Writer.

Barrett joins JOE.co.uk from The Times, where he was North-West Football Correspondent, winning North-West Football Writer of the Year in 2015.

His tireless work for over a decade on the Merseyside and north-west patch has earned him a reputation as the authority on football in the region, a reputation that's earned him over 300,000 followers on Twitter.

The announcement comes just weeks after the hire of Rob Burnett as Editor of the SportsJOE team at JOE.co.uk.

"Tony is one of the biggest names in football writing in this country and in an exclusive-laden career, first with the Liverpool Echo and then with the Times, he has become the authority on football on Merseyside," said Burnett, previously Digital Sports Editor at the Mirror.


"His work is always must-read for fans of Liverpool and Everton and his Twitter feed is now one of the first places supporters check for breaking news on their clubs.

"His wealth of experience, bulging contacts book, great writing and fantastic social media presence will help us take SportsJOE to the next level in terms of our football coverage.

"I can't wait to be reading his work on our site very soon."

editors

(Rob Burnett – SportsJOE Editor, Richard Beech – JOE Editor, and Alex Finnis – Deputy Editor, JOE).

Barrett and Burnett are the latest in a wave of new hires at JOE, including Alex Finnis – previously Senior Writer at BuzzFeed – as Deputy Editor, Louise Emmerson – previously of BuzzFeed – as VP of Brand Partnerships, and a promotion for Nooruddean Choudry – Twitter's @BeardedGenius – to Managing Editor of JOE.co.uk.