Search icon


26th Jul 2018

The Mercury Prize shortlist has been announced, here’s the list

Will Lavin

It’s that time of year again

The 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ have been revealed.

Announced this morning at a launch event hosted by BBC Music’s Huw Stephens in the stunning ballroom of London’s Langham Hotel, we were present to hear firsthand which albums would be battling it out for the prestigious award.

The Awards Show will be held at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith on September 20th 2018. The event will feature live performances from many of the 12 shortlisted artists. The evening will culminate in the announcement of the overall winner of the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize for ‘Album of the Year’.

Last year’s winner was Sampha for his incredible debut album Process, which includes the heartbreaking song about his mother’s death “(No One Knows Me) Like the Piano”.

So who’s up for this year’s award?


  • Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino
  • Everything Everything – A Fever Dream
  • Everything Is Recorded – Everything Is Recorded
  • Florence & The Machine – High As Hope
  • Jorja Smith – Lost & Found
  • King Krule – The OOZ
  • Lily Allen – No Shame
  • Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination
  • Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built The Moon?
  • Novelist – Novelist Guy
  • Sons Of Kemet – Your Queen Is A Reptile
  • Wolf Alice – Visions Of A Life

Who do you think is going to be taking it home? Arctic Monkeys or Everything Is Recorded has my vote but Jorja Smith could be a good shout too.

Voted for by an independent panel of 12 judges, this years judges are: Broadcaster and DJ Clara Amfo, broadcaster and writer Danielle Perry, musician and songwriter Ella Eyre, Deputy Editor at The Guardian Guide Harriet Gibsone, musician and broadcaster Jamie Cullum, Head of Music for 6 Music and Radio 2 Jeff Smith, musician and songwriter Lianne La Havas, musician and songwriter Marcus Mumford, Head of Music at Radio X Mike Walsh, broadcaster and DJ  MistaJam, Creative Director at Kerrang! and Contributing Editor at Mojo Phil Alexander, and Chief Rock & Pop Critic at The Times Will Hodgkinson. The Chair of the judging panel is Jeff Smith.

The Hyundai Mercury Prize recognises and celebrates the ‘Albums of the Year’, establishing a reputation for highlighting the work of both exciting emerging talent and more established bands and artists. Albums by British and Irish artists with a UK release date between July 22nd 2017 and July 20th 2018 are eligible for the 2018 Prize.