Search icon


09th Oct 2018

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2019 nominees have been announced

Will Lavin

It’s a list that sees a few familiar names return

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has today announced its nominees for induction into the 2019 class.

A mix of new and old candidates, it’s the first time the likes of Def Leppard, Devo, John Prine, Roxy Music, Stevie Nicks and Todd Rundgren have made the list, while both LL Cool J and Kraftwerk return for a fourth year – surely it’s got to be LL Cool J’s year, no? The man is a living legend. Hip Hop’s first superstar.

Other nominees include Rage Against the Machine, Janet Jackson, MC5, The Cure, Radiohead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and The Zombies.

An individual artist or band must have released their first commercial project at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination to be eligible to make the Hall of Fame.

Inductees will be announced in December and fans will once again have the opportunity to vote their favourite into the prestigious music museum.

All they need to do is visit anytime between now and December 9th to vote who they believe should feature. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will make up a “fans’ ballot” that will be totalled up, along with the other ballots to choose the 2019 inductees. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.

The full list is as follows:

  • Def Leppard
  • Devo
  • Janet Jackson
  • John Prine
  • Kraftwerk
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Roxy Music
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Stevie Nicks
  • The Cure
  • The Zombies
  • Todd Rundgren

The 2019 induction ceremony will be held at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on March 29th.


Ticket information will be announced in January.